What to do with my life?

I previously documented that I recently had a bike crash. While I’m not exactly sure what happened, I do know that I hit my head hard enough to knock me unconscious for over 20 minutes. While not nearly as dramatic as the events in the presentation below, they have had a profound impact on my life.

 

 

I’ve been doing a lot of thinking in the interim, and realized that I wasn’t happy with the path that I had chosen (academia). Actually, I have been unhappy with the academic life for some time, but haven’t had the courage to do anything about it. I t was easier to keep flowing with the current.

The crash changed that. I will not be returning next semester; I will not be finishing my PhD. I don’t know what I’ll end up doing. I have no immediate plans. I will be unemployed come January 1.

My future awaits.

3 Comments

Filed under goals, life

3 responses to “What to do with my life?

  1. Lyka Ricks

    Most of us are called on to perform tasks far beyond what we believe we can do. Our capabilities seldom match our aspirations, and we are often woefully unprepared. To this extent, we are all Assistant Pig-Keepers at heart. ~Lloyd Chudley Alexander obtained from Aspirations quotes

  2. TCO

    Think about it, man (or even give me an email or a call).

    You may not be 100% cutout for the academic rat race. You may have qualities (like communication) that are better used outside the laboratory.

    All that said…depending on how much time you have in…it may be worth it to just get the thing done and collect the resume bullet

    If it will help to chat, let me know and I will figure out some way to communicate (since I don’t have email enabled or the like).

  3. I kept on meaning to comment, and then didn’t. And now I see from wiki that you’re having a break. I don’t regret going through academia, but I do regret not thinking carefully about whether I really wanted to or not. Best wishes.

Leave a Reply

