Treadmill running

10 miles, 80 minutes, no music

I have to say, running on the treadmill is convenient. But boy is it boring. When I got there, someone was on the treadmill watching the CW. I forgot my music at home so was planning on watching something, but not that. Blah. Anyway, there were only about 10 minutes left of whatever was on, so I could stick it out and then see what came on next. To my dismay, the next show was a weight loss show where the winner got a free wedding (or something like that). Ugh. It was possibly more painful that running on a treadmill without anything to distract you. I kept my eyes glued to the clock on the treadmill, and it wasn’t going fast enough. I almost quit after 5 miles, but didn’t. And I’m glad I didn’t, the last half felt the best. I got in a zone and the miles flew by.

In addition to being so boring, it was hot. The temperature in the gym was probably 70 F. That may not sound hot to anyone who eventually comes across this post, but it is when trying to run. I was tempted to turn the air conditioning lower, but then I thought that a little heat training would be good for me. I stuck it out and ran the planned distance in the planned time. I also ran out of water just as I was finishing. I hardly ever run out of water, but I guess it was because it was so hot that I was drinking more.

Tonight calls for an easy 5 mile run with a long 22 miler on Sunday. This will be my longest run in awhile and I’m looking forward to it. It’ll be nice to get back on the Rillito River path again. That’s it for now. Toodles.

Leave a comment

Filed under running

Leave a Reply

